202.466.3311 voice 202.466.3435 fax www.civilrights.org

Officers April 25, 2017 Chair

Judith L. Lichtman National Partnership for Women & Families

Thomas A. Saenz

Hilary Shelton NAACP

Secretary Jo Ann Jenkins

Board of Directors

Helena Berger American Association of People with Disabilities Cornell William Brooks

NAACP Kristen Clarke

Chad Griffin Human Rights Campaign

AARP Treasurer

Mexican American Legal Defense and Educational Fund

Lee A. Saunders American Federation of State

Lawyers' Committee for Civil Rights Under Law

Lily Eskelsen García National Education Association

Marcia D. Greenberger National Women's Law Center

Wylecia Wiggs Harris League of Women Voters of the

Sherrilyn Ifill NAACP Legal Defense and

Michael B. Keegan People for the American Way Samer E. Khalaf American-Arab

Anti-Discrimination Committee

National Council of La Raza

National Organization for Women Rabbi Jonah Pesner

National Fair Housing Alliance

American Federation of Teachers

Asian Americans Advancing Justice |

Japanese American Citizens League

National Partnership for Women & Families Terry O'Neill

Religious Action Center Of Reform Judaism

Anthony Romero American Civil Liberties Union

Shanna Smith

Richard L. Trumka AFL-CIO Randi Weingarten

Dennis Williams International Union, UAW

John C. Yang

William Yoshino

Educational Fund, Inc.

Service Employees International Union

United States Mary Kay Henry

Mark Hopkins

Marc Morial National Urban League

Janet Murguía

County & Municipal Employees

National Congress of American Indians

Vice Chairs Jacqueline Pata



Oppose the "Financial CHOICE Act of 2017"

Dear Financial Services Committee Member:

On behalf of The Leadership Conference on Civil and Human Rights, a coalition of more than 200 national advocacy organizations, we write to express our strong opposition to the "Financial CHOICE Act of 2017." This bill is nothing more than a repackaging of the Committee's efforts over the past six years to deregulate the financial services industry, enable payday lending and other predatory services, and unlearn the lessons of the 2008 financial crisis.

The Leadership Conference sees no need to catalogue all the reasons why this is such a profoundly misguided bill. We have weighed in on many of its pieces as they have come up in standalone legislation in recent years – particularly this committee's efforts to undercut many of the pro-consumer rules and policies issued by the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau (CFPB) and to undermine the independence of the CFPB itself. In the five years since the CFPB opened its doors, it has worked tirelessly to put an end to the "anything goes" mortgage lending that marked the previous decade, racial discrimination in auto lending markups, sneaky credit card add-ons, and many other deceptive and abusive practices, while also promoting consumer education and the growth of more inclusive financial technology. Our position on any effort to roll back this progress is the same, regardless of whether it is done piecemeal or lumped into one comprehensive bill.

It speaks volumes that not a single industry representative is scheduled to appear in this week's hearing to defend, in an open forum, the provisions in this bill. The planned markup of this bill in less than a week after the hearing is also telling. We can understand if the Committee is rushing the process to avoid public scrutiny: the markup last fall of a largely identical bill came only five days after the CFPB's biggest success story to date, in which it concluded a years-long investigation into fraudulent consumer account practices by one of the nation's largest banks and collected \$100 million in fines for the CFPB Civil Penalty Fund. Yet if this Committee is so concerned with political optics, perhaps it could show an interest in more financial services oversight and enforcement, not less.

We urge you to reject this bill. If you have any questions, please contact either of us or Senior Counsel Rob Randhava at (202) 466-3311.

Sincerely,

Wade Henderson

Policy and Enforcement Committee Chair Michael Lieberman Anti-Defamation League President & CEO Wade J. Henderson Executive Vice President & COO Karen McGill Lawson

President & CEO

Executive Vice President