Congress of the United States

Washington, DC 20515

May 23, 2025

The Honorable Cindy-Hyde Smith Chair Subcommittee on Transportation, Housing, and Urban Development & Related Agencies Senate Appropriations Committee Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Steve Womack Chair Subcommittee on Transportation, Housing and Urban Development, and Related Agencies House Appropriations Committee Washington, D.C. 20515 The Honorable Kristen Gillibrand Ranking Member Subcommittee on Transportation, Housing, and Urban Development & Related Agencies Senate Appropriations Committee Washington, D.C. 20515

The Honorable Jim Clyburn Ranking Member Subcommittee on Transportation, Housing and Urban Development, and Related Agencies House Appropriations Committee Washington, D.C. 20515

Dear Chair Hyde-Smith, Ranking Member Gillibrand, Chair Womack, and Ranking Member Clyburn:

As you develop the Fiscal Year (FY) 2026 Transportation, Housing and Urban Development (THUD) and Related Agencies Appropriations bill, we respectfully request that you include funding to ensure that the nearly 60,000 households who are currently being served by the Emergency Housing Voucher (EHV) program do not fall into homelessness.

During the pandemic, Congress appropriated \$5 billion in mandatory funding for the EHV program to help people experiencing or at risk of experiencing homelessness, including survivors of domestic violence and victims of human trafficking, access safe, stable and affordable housing during a moment of crisis.

Since 2021, the success of the EHV program and its design, which includes critical administrative flexibilities that are responsive to a tumultuous housing market, cannot be overstated. The Department of Housing and Urban Development (HUD) reported that EHVs are leasing at a rate faster than any previous housing voucher program within HUD and drove unprecedented collaboration among public housing agencies (PHAs), homeless services organizations, and victim services organizations to provide rapid and effective housing assistance to vulnerable populations. PHAs in every state have benefited from the improved voucher issuance and utilization that the EHV program provides, as have the people and communities they serve. Congress must provide sufficient and robust funding to ensure that the families who rely on EHVs don't lose their housing.

We understand that the Subcommittee must make difficult decisions. However, the EHV program provides rental assistance to help end and prevent homelessness. At a time when housing costs and homelessness continue to rise, we respectfully request that you provide adequate funding in the FY26 THUD Appropriations bill to renew all EHVs to ensure that those who have been served by the program do not lose their housing support and to ensure landlords continue receiving the rental payments they depend on to maintain their properties. Thank you for your consideration of this request and your continued support for the most vulnerable Americans.

Sincerely,

Alex Padilla
United States Senator

Elizabeth Warren Ranking Member Committee on Banking, Housing, and Urban Affairs Maxine Waters
Ranking Member
Committee on Financial Services

Mafine Waters

Angela Alsobrooks
United States Senator

Angela D. alaobrooks

Tammy Baldwin
United States Senator

Michael F. Bennet United States Senator

Richard Blumenthal United States Senator

Lisa Blunt Rochester United States Senator Alma S. Adams, Ph.D. Member of Congress

Yassamin Ansari Member of Congress

Becca Balint Member of Congress

Nanette Diaz Barragán
Member of Congress

Joyce Beatty
Member of Congress

Maria Cantwell
United States Senator

Catherine Cortez Masto United States Senator

Richard J. Durbin United States Senator

Mazie K. Hirono United States Senator

Andy Kim

United States Senator

Angus S. King, Jr. United States Senator

Amy Klobuchar United States Senator Donald S. Beyer Jr. Member of Congress

Sanford D. Bishop, Jr. Member of Congress

Suzanne Bonamici Member of Congress

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Janelle S. Bynum Member of Congress

Salud Carbajal Member of Congress

Andre Carson

Member of Congress

Ben Ray Lujan
United States Senator

Edward J. Markey
United States Senator

Jeffrey A. Merkley United States Senator

Christopher S. Murphy United States Senator

Jack Reed

United States Senator

Bernard Sanders United States Senator

Adam B. Schiff
United States Senator

Greg Casar

Member of Congress

Gilbert Ray Cisneros, Jr // Member of Congress

Emanuel Cleaver, II Member of Congress

Steve Cohen Member of Congress

Joe Courtney Member of Congress

Sharice L. Davids Member of Congress

Danny K. Davis
Member of Congress

Tina Smith

United States Senator

Chris Van Hollen

United States Senator

Mark R. Warner

United States Senator

Peter Welch

United States Senator

Sheldon Whitehouse

United States Senator

Ron Wyden

United States Senator

Jesús G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress Maxine Dexter Member of Congress

Lloyd Doggett

Member of Congress

Cleo Fields

Member of Congress

Bill Foster

Member of Congress

Bill Foster

Valerie P. Foushee

Member of Congress

Laura Friedman

Member of Congress

Jama Friedra

Sylvia R. Garcia

Member of Congress

Dan Goldman Member of Congress

Maggie Goodlander Member of Congress

Jahana Hayes Member of Congress

Steven Horsford Member of Congress

Jonathan L. Jackson Member of Congress

Pramila Jayapal
Member of Congress

Ro Khanna Member of Congress Jimmy Gomez Member of Congress

Al Green Member of Congress

im Himes Member of Congress

Val Hoyle Member of Congress

Sara Jacobs Member of Congress

Robin L. Kelly Member of Congress

Greg Landsman Member of Congress John B. Larson Member of Congress

Ted W. Lieu

Member of Congress

Ted W. Lien

Morgan McGarvey
Member of Congress

LaMonica McIver Member of Congress

Dave Min Member of Congress

Kevin Mullin Member of Congress

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress Sam T. Liccardo Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

James P. McGovern Member of Congress

Gregory W. Meeks Member of Congress

Gwen S. Moore Member of Congress

Ferrold Nadler Member of Congress

Genold Hadlen

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez Member of Congress Ilhan Omar

Member of Congress

Scott H. Peters

Member of Congress

Stacey E/Plaskett

Member of Congress

Delia C. Ramirez

Member of Congress

Raul Ruiz, M.D.

Member of Congress

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Sunas Subramanyam Member of Congress Jimmy Panetta

Member of Congress

Brittany Pettersen

Member of Congress

Ayanna Pressley

Member of Congress

Luz M. Rivas

Member of Congress

Andrea Salinas

Member of Congress

Jan Schakowsky

Member of Congress

Shri Thanedar

Member of Congress

Rashida Tlaib

Member of Congress

Rasheda Slail

Nydia M. Velázquez

Member of Congress

Frederica S. Wilson

Member of Congress

Derek T. Tran

Member of Congress

Member of Congress